History of the library
During colonial times individuals had been good enough to keep the town's collection of circulating books in their homes. In 1920 a collection of 80 books from the Connecticut circulating library were sent to the Congregational church where they were placed on shelves in the church balcony. A group of 6 townspeople met in 1922 to form the East Granby Library Association. Nearly 3500 books were moved from the parsonage to the school in May 1938. As usual, the library opened for only two hours each week, on Saturday afternoon.
The library acquired a more central location in November 1942 when it moved into the vacated town hall on School Street, which had begun its existence as Center School. The library moved again in May 1967 to 27 School Street. The library expanded its hour considerably and had a permanent collection of about 15,000 books. A generous donation from the Seymour family for the sole purpose of a new library helped spark interested in forming a building committee to raise funds. After ten years and a lot of determination the dream of a new library became a reality. In September 2001 the library moved into its new home at 24 Center St. The community formed a book brigade to move the first 100 books to the new library. We are nestled on a small hill with the view of a pond on one side and the community center and town hall on the other. With the generous support of the community we are open 51 hours a week and have a collection of over 35,000 books.